Late 2008 MBP - Will a Retail Leopard install?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by orbitalpunk, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. orbitalpunk macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    Does anyone know if a retail copy of leopard will install on the new mbp and still retain all the functionality of the trackpad and new video drivers after installing all the system updates?

    why? Im trying to downgrade my quicktime time to 7.4.5 or lower due to a keynote bug and installing 7.4.5 with pacifist is not fixing the problem. But i do know a pure 7.4.5 quicktime install does fix the issue.

    Thanks guys
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    If the retail copy of Leopard is the same 10.5.x as the MacBook Pro, yes. If not, then it won't work.
     
  3. nitewolfgtr macrumors regular

    nitewolfgtr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #3
    well dont you get all that functionality back through system update?

    can anyone confirm?
     
  4. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #4
    No, the retail copy of Leopard hasn't been updated (to my knowledge) and thus lacks the proper drivers and whatnot to make your system run properly (if at all). Your best bet is to look for an older version of QuickTime somewhere.
     
  5. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #5
    I say just drag your copy to the trash, then copy the older version from someone else, if you can find it.
     
  6. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #6
    I've read somewhere that you can't install versions of OSX older then the one your machine came with, it won't let you. If it does though, just use an external mouse and then do a system update to restore lost functionality :)
     
  7. chrisi29 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    Hmm that's strange... What are you supposed to to when you swap Harddrives?
    You'd have to reinstall Leopard somehow... ??
     
  8. duffyanneal macrumors 6502a

    duffyanneal

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    ATL
    #8
    You use the discs that come with the machine.
     

Share This Page