Late 2009 iMac RAM upgrade question...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Oscar0990, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. Oscar0990 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    So now that i am doing a lot more stuff with my iMac, the 4GB Ram dosent seem to be catching up... especially since im running Mountain Lion. Ive done some research and i came across two products from the same brand, i am just a little confused and would like to clarification since its my first time ever doing this... They sell this one at amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-CT2CP...8552851&sr=8-2&keywords=crucial+8gb+kit+4gbx2 and this one at Crucial's page, http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=DC34FFA3A5CA7304
    I ran the system scan and it said it was that specific ram that i needed. Would the one at amazon work since i really would like to save a few bucks or should i just get the one that Crucial said i specifically needed? Any help would be much appreciated! thanks!
     
  2. Oscar0990 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    I usually tell clients to order from OWC. Problems are rare with the RAM they sell.
     
  4. xplnusa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #4
    Oscar at the beginning of the year I ordered Crucial ram for my MBP and for my iMac. I ordered one set directly from Crucial and one I used the Crucial part number and got it off Amazon (figured out after my initial order :() and both have been working beautifully ever since.

    MBP is a 2011 and iMac is a 09 27"
     
  5. neal5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    #5
  6. Oscar0990 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #6
    How does OWC compare to crucial?

    How does OWC compare to crucial?
     
  7. fruitpunch.ben macrumors 6502a

    fruitpunch.ben

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Surrey, BC
    #7
    I don't think you'll find any noticeable difference. Both are really good quality.
    I bought 8 GB crucial (2x4GB) for my late 2009 27" iMac to replace the 2x2GB it came with. Eventually I might put another 8GB in the two empty slots.
    I've been very happy.
    Note that although Apple's specs don't say it, you can put 1333MHz RAM in, instead of the 1066MHz it came with. This only works if you completely replace the RAM, if you leave the 1066MHz RAM in, it will downclock the new RAM. If you have only 1333MHz RAM as I do, it will run at 1333MHz
     
  8. Oscar0990 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #8
    Interesting that you bring that up... i read from several users that it it was best to keep it at 1066MHz. so if it will work best if i remove the stock RAM and replace it with the 1333MHz RAM? you havent experienced any problems?
     
  9. EntropyQ3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #9
    I run 16GB of Corsair 1333MHz RAM in my late 2009 27" iMac with no issues.
     
  10. fruitpunch.ben macrumors 6502a

    fruitpunch.ben

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Surrey, BC
    #10
    Yeah no problems with my 8GB of Crucial 1333MHz RAM
     
  11. Oscar0990 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #11

Share This Page