Late-2011 15" MBP Display... Weird Colors

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SamCity, Oct 18, 2013.

1. SamCity, Oct 18, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013

SamCity macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I'm new to this so sorry if I'm doing it wrong...

I have a Late 2011 15" MBP with 2.2GHz i7 and 4GB RAM. It's hard to describe what is happening.

It started a few months ago, flickering screen colours etc, sometimes it will work sometimes it won't. After thinking it was completely gone a couple of weeks ago it seemed to work ok after constant resets (pram n stuff), but the last couple of days I've lost it again.

From the pictures if you can help find out what is wrong and any info you can provide for me would be great. I'm at Uni and my student loan doesn't even cover my rent so I can't afford anything really. Sad times.

From my iPhone I can only get one attachment so is a Dropbox link ok?

Attached Files:

2. SamCity thread starter macrumors newbie

Dropbox link if I'm allowed to post: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vikkd5cjwmolgp7/jtHr7Lfc7V

3. Rhinoceros macrumors newbie

Sounds like a GPU issue. Does the computer freeze up completely whenever this happens? Are you doing anything specific when it happens?

If your computer has dual graphics, try disabling automatic switching. Go to Settings --> Energy Saver, then uncheck the Automatic graphics switching box.

4. SamCity thread starter macrumors newbie

I haven't noticed anything specific. I remember it freezing in Netflix not too long ago. Gets hot at times. I imagine it could be GPU too.

I ran the diagnostics at startup twice a while ago and nothing found. I suppose they are basic tests though...

And when it happens there is no getting out of it. Have to press Alt Ctrl Shift and power.

----------

I just unchecked the graphics switching and the screen has gone bad haha. Flickering now coloured bars cannot see the screen anymore.

5. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

KUguardgrl13