Late 2011 MBP 13' - Needs Memory upgrade but....

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sids911, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. sids911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    #1
    So I have this Late 2011 Macbook Pro 13' Model with i5 Processor. This one came with 4 GB RAM onboard and it looks like simple things like two users logging in at the same time and running different browsers (Chrome and Safari) bogs this machine down.

    I checked the Activity Monitor and the Page Outs are a lot constantly. Just with two users simultaneous logged in (only with one actively using the mac) and just running things like browsers and iPhoto and iTunes!

    But obvious - I need more memory. I checked out OWC's memory and there are two options for me,
    1. Buy 4x2 = 8 GB (I will have to replace 2x2 = 4GB RAM that the mac already has) = Making total RAM 8 GB
    2. Buy 8 GB Single slot and fill the other slot with 2 GB RAM module that I already have leftover. = Making total RAM 10 GB (and future upgrade option of 16 GB)

    So - which one is recommended? 1 or 2 ?
     
  2. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #2
    I would choose option 1. Less risk of weird memory incompatibilities with two different vendors of memory. Also, if there are any performance gains by having a matched pair, you'll get that too.
     
  3. someguy50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #3
    2, without a doubt. If there are any issues running two unmatched sticks (unlikely), just pull the 2GB out and run with a single 8GB. Matched pair (dual channel) benefit is not significant, anyway.

    Easy upgrade to 16 when you're ready.
     
  4. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #4
    Agreed. You'll probably want to go to 16GB eventually so why have to toss two 4GB modules? The trade in value of them is minimal.
     
  5. sids911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    #5
    Can I run with one memory slot empty??? OR do I need to fill it up with a dummy? (Where can I buy that dummy if required?)
     
  6. someguy50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #6

    Yes, you can run with one empty
     
  7. sids911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    #7
    Great!

    Thanks everyone. I am going with 2nd option. Will order one slot 8GB stick and will run it with one of my leftover 2 GB stick. If I face issues, I'll just order another 8 GB stick :). BTW I will order from Crucial.com, there is about 10 USD difference between their same capacity memories which I don't understand why.

    Thanks everyone for the suggestions. Mod, please close this thread.
     

Share This Page