Late 2013 21.5" iMac or Late 2012 27" iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MVP6, Jan 2, 2014.

1. MVP6 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

so I am in a bit of a dilemma trying to figure out which iMac I should go for. I have narrowed down my options to the following 2:

A 21.5" iMac (Late 2013) with fusion drive or a 27" iMac (Late 2012) with the regular 7200 rpm HDD.

Here are the basic specs for both:

Late 2013 21.5" iMac

2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 Haswell processor
    Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz
    8GB RAM
    1TB Fusion HDD
    Intel Iris Pro graphics

Price - $1499 (before taxes)

Late 2012 27" iMac

2.9GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5 Ivy Bridge processor
    Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    8GB RAM
    1TB 7200 RPM HDD
    512MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX

Price - $1599 (before taxes)

Both are brand new, and not refurbished (Which is something that I prefer).

I am a student so I will be doing some basic word processing, however I will also be doing a lot of video editing using iMovie and Final Cut Pro, as well as picture editing with Photoshop. Garageband will also be used heavily. As for gaming, I will be doing very light gaming (just some Left 4 Dead 2 or League of Legends sometimes).

With all that in mind, which one do you guys suggest I should get?

2. biggiet4jets macrumors member

I am in the same dilemma. Except I have had great luck with apple refurbished products before so going refurbished doesn't bother me as long as I can save money. College books are expensive! lol Let me know which model you end up getting?!

3. Twimfy macrumors 6502a

Twimfy

Personally I'd go for the 27" for the screen real estate and it's likely to hold its value more than the 21".

I'd also rather have the Nvidia Graphics over Iris and yeah the 7200RPM drive is going to be a bit of a performance set back BUT we've been using those drives for years and getting along just fine. You can always upgrade to an SSD later.

4. jbg232 macrumors 65816

jbg232