Late 2013 Mac Pro won't boot just keeps chiming

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kuau, Nov 10, 2017.

  1. kuau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #1
    My late 203 Mac Pro 6 Core has died on me. When I go to turn it on, it just continually does the startup chime.
    I have tried everything, reset SMC, Zap PRAM, I cannot get into recovery mode or even diagnostics by hitting the D key at startup.
    Any ideas?

    http://www.kuau.com/IMG_0002.mov
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Try removing your RAM sticks (all of them), then try to boot. You won't boot, of course, but a different error result might just reset your logic board (and it SHOULD error out differently, not just a boot loop), and (after re-inserting the RAM) may let you boot correctly again.
     
  3. kuau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #3
    I tried that, yes I did get a different "beep" code, then I went ahead and put the memory back in and rebooted.
    Same thing. Ugh. I have an appointment tomorrow at the Apple "Idiot" bar where I am sure they will have no idea either
     
  4. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #4
    For whom the Mac chimes, it chimes for thee...and chimes, and chimes.

    Wow, that’s odd. Hope you got it resolved.
     
  5. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #5
    A chime loop sounds like a dead graphics card. My MacPro did exactly that when my GPU bit the dust.
     
  6. RyanXM macrumors regular

    RyanXM

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #6
    Try holding the SHIFT key after the POST chime for 10 seconds. This will boot in SAFE boot and not load any GPU drivers. If it boots successfully in SAFE boot, then its more than likely and issue related to the GPUs.

    Also, about the "IDIOT" bar...there are plenty of capable people who work at Apple at the Genius Bar. Not all Genius' are at the same knowledge level, I'll give you that. But being a Genius for over 5 years, I can attest to there being unqualified "kids" working at the Genius Bar as well as those who are over qualified.
     
  7. kuau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #7
    Funny, I left my Mac Pro on Saturday at the Genius Bar, the "kid" who helped me looked at my Mac Pro as if he had never even seen one before. What a joke, I think he was expecting an iPhone 10 or something. Oh well they have it now and who knows how long it will take for them even to look at it. As of 4:00pm Tuesday MST they have not even checked it yet.
    What a joke, Apple give me a break
     
  8. cbt3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #8
    did you ever resolve this? I am having a similar issue
     
  9. kuau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #9
    Yes Apple did fix it they replaced both the main board and power supply though I got in a fight with the store manager asking him why they replaced the power supply which by all accounts was fine and did not need to be replaced. He just gave me some bs response about how service always starts with PS first no matter what then goes from there. After calling Apple customer service I ended up not having to pay for the PS saving me a little money.
     
  10. lex-mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    #10
    My Mac Pro (mid 2012) suddenly stopped working. I was on a website with a client on the phone, and the screen turned to pink lines. I shut it down. On reboot it would only keep chiming. The screen stayed dark.

    I tried cleaning the RAM, replacing the 2032 battery (which entails removing the graphics card).
    After I put it back together, it started (I could hear the hard drive working), but the screen stayed black. I thought for a moment and realized I didn't plug the graphics card back in. I did that; restarted; and was back to the chiming.

    It was then I realized it was probably the graphics card.
    I ordered and replacement. Put it in (plugged the card in this time).
    And BING! My Mac Pro was back to normal.

    Long story short, it was my graphics card. I think because I let the dust get out of hand inside. I now have a computer vacuum to keep it tidy inside.

    A note: a few months before it broke down, I kept hearing a fan turn on inside the box. It was when I was on Flash or Java heavy sites (like I was with my client). When I closed the window, the fan stopped. So I believe the graphic card was filled with dust.

    Mac Pro (Mid 2012)
    3.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    32 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
    ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
     

Share This Page