Late 2014 5k iMac 256GB storage options?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ARK, Apr 7, 2017.

  1. ARK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1
    I may have the opportunity to purchase my work computer which is a Late 2014 5k iMac with BTO 4Ghz Quad i7 processor, 16GB ram, and AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4GB of GDDR5 memory. I currently have a late 2013 15" MBP with 2.6GHz quad i7, 16GB ram, Nvidia GeForce GT750, and 1TB SSD in pristine working condition.

    I like the ability to be mobile but I don't take it anywhere since I have the 12" MacBook. My wife has a 13" MBP too and we hook hers or my 15" MBP up to the 24" ACD at the office desk when we want to work there. Both having laptops that we can connect to a display has been a nice workflow for us. In fact, I was in the mindset of buying a 4k monitor and her a new 12" MacBook this year.

    That said, the iMac seems like it would be a step up in specs compared to my 15" MBP. However, the iMac only has a 256GB SSD since workflow is typically saving stuff to the server.

    1. Is this a deal worth thinking about or would you pass on buying the work iMac? (I don't have a price yet)
    2. If I were to buy it for personal use, what are my options to add more storage?
     
  2. Dubadai macrumors regular

    Dubadai

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden.
    #2
    Well first of all the retina iMac is a great computer. I would buy it if my job offered me a buy-out. Regarding external storage I would just get a 4tb drive drive from WD (or bigger), or if you need so,etching really fast, an external SSD. WD is releasing their USB SSD soon, which is supposedly pretty cheap for the storage you get.

    If you get a good price on the iMac I would buy it and then sell one the of MacBook pros.
     
  3. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #3
    ARK being a BTO iMac, it may well have upgraded hard drive to an SSD or maybe a 3TB Fusion or Flash. Any idea what the drive is as this may make a huge difference?
     
  4. ARK thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #4
    Yes, as mentioned above its a 256GB SSD. Typical workflow is to work off the server so IT didn't load up the storage to save money.
     

Share This Page