Late 2015 5K iMac Fusion Drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by NicolasLGA, Oct 29, 2015.

  1. NicolasLGA macrumors member

    NicolasLGA

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    #1
    Hey everyone, first time posting here (but long time lurker).

    While playing with Bootcamp on my brand new iMac, I ran across huge problems and I had to manually erase the 2TB Fusion Drive and then recreate it.

    Turns out that El Capitan disk utility doesn't automatically recreate the Fusion Drive, so I had to play around terminal while inside the internet recovery mode to fix it. Everything seems to be ok.

    Anyways, to confirm that everything is back as it should, could someone with a late 2015 5K iMac kindly post the info they have on disk utility about both the Mac HD and the general Fusion Drive volume.

    I'm posting this here because its really concerning the new iMac and the way the Fusion Drive is set up, which seems different (disks order and other stuff) than other Macs. Greatly appreciated.
     
  2. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    You just want a screenshot of the system report page for Storage right?
     
  3. NicolasLGA thread starter macrumors member

    NicolasLGA

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    #3
    That would be great. But if it's not to much to ask also a screenshot showing both the Fusion Drive volume and the Macintosh HD from Disk Utility (the app not the terminal diskutil). I've got some words stuff going on there (I think). :D
     
  4. b18221964 macrumors member

    b18221964

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
  5. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
  6. NicolasLGA thread starter macrumors member

    NicolasLGA

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    #6
    At this point show me anything you've got lol
     
  7. NicolasLGA thread starter macrumors member

    NicolasLGA

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    #7
    Thanks a lot! Everything seems good. Contrary to previous Fusion Drives, the new iMac has disk0s2 for the HDD and disk1s2 for the SSD. Mine are listed the other way around tho, probably cause when I created the Logical Volume I switched them around. Will probably restart (Time Machine backups FTW).

    Last question... In disk utility, what are the names that appear for internal storage? Mine says Fusion Drive and then under it Macintosh HD. Even if the CoreStorage logical volume is named Macintosh HD (as is yours per the Logical Volume Group Name), it displays as Fusion Drive. I include a lazy screenshot taken with an iPhone. IMG_0062.jpg
     
  8. BigRon1 macrumors newbie

    BigRon1

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #8
    I had the same issue trying to install Windows 10 in Bootcamp. I spent 2 hrs re-creating the fusion Drive.
    I have been looking for a successful install of Windows 10 in Bootcamp in the late 2015 Imac but haven't found anything. please post if anyone has had success doing this. The Applecare technicians where of little help and a bit clueless if it could be done. thanks
     
  9. blut haus macrumors regular

    blut haus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #9
    My Windows 10 install works just fine. What problems are you having? I downloaded the .iso directly from Microsoft and it used that. Install went easily and fairly quickly.
     
  10. lovelybai macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #10
    I don't see any problems installing windows 10 either. Not clear what problem you are facing
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I did not need to mess around with the Fusion drive, at all, I just ran the bootcamp utility and then installed windows. What issues are you having?
     
  12. BigRon1 macrumors newbie

    BigRon1

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #12
    I have installed Windows numerous times on other Mac computers but when I tried to do it on my new IMac it made a windows partition and the would not allow me to install windows on it. Furthermore I tried to do it again and it would not make an additional windows partition and would not allow me to delete the one that was there. So I had to rebuild the drive through Terminal commands now I'm scared to even attempt it again. Maybe Ill try.
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Did you format the windows partition to NTFS? Bootcamp only formats it to FAT, and then you need to select the partition and format it to NTFS in the windows installer, at least that's what I always needed to do.
     
  14. blut haus macrumors regular

    blut haus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #14
    This was the one "gotcha" that you need to be mindful of. I was confused at first, then realized it wasn't appropriately formatted to install Windows.
     
  15. BigRon1 macrumors newbie

    BigRon1

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #15
    I installed it this morning and the reason I had trouble with it last time was having all the usb devices plugged in. This time I unplugged them all and then formatted the bootcamp partition and everything went smooth thanks for everyones input. My advice when installing bootcamp is unplug all usb devices.
     
  16. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    Off Topic:

    In Dave Barry's 2015 year in review, he mentioned that Microsoft releases Windows 10, which remarkably converts Windows 8 into Windows 7. ;)

    /Jim
     
  17. blut haus macrumors regular

    blut haus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #17
    Heh, indeed! At least I've had the stability of 7 so far in 10.

    Heyyyy, Portland! :). Try not to slip on the sidewalks today. I didn't have fun earlier.
     
  18. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #18
    Yes I had to do the same and unplug my USB devices.
     

Share This Page