Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HuwRowlands

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2011
Hi,

I was going to purchase the latest (base model) 27" i5 iMac but noticed a late 2012 i7 in stock for £50 less.

Refurbished 27-inch iMac 3.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
Originally released October 2012
27-inch LED-backlit display with IPS technology
8GB memory

1TB hard drive
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX with 1GB
Built-in FaceTime HD camera​

I know there are small differences such as the WIFI and updated Haswell processors but would it not be worth getting the 2013 model, for the late 2012 i7?

What differences in speed and performance would there be? Would I benefit from having the i7? Or would it be on par with the current i5?

I am a web designer/dev and use a few apps at once including photoshop/illustrator etc.
What advice could give me?

Thanks in advance

mffl04

macrumors member
Mar 23, 2011
Just came to post the same question. The processor heavy task I would be doing is some photo editing, home video editing in iMovie and video recoding from eyeTV. Any tips on which on to go with? Will the 2012 model have much speed gains from a 2013 model with the i5?

MacFan782040

macrumors 65816
Dec 1, 2003
Have you guys seen the image retention issues? I was ready to purchase a refurb 2012 iMac or a new 2013 one... and now I'm not sure what to do. Google/search these forums and it seems like a pretty serious issue!

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra
Have you guys seen the image retention issues? I was ready to purchase a refurb 2012 iMac or a new 2013 one... and now I'm not sure what to do. Google/search these forums and it seems like a pretty serious issue!
Remember when one person has an issue and posts about it on the internet, others pick up and echo the issue making it possibly seem worse than it is.