Latest cat for my mac.....?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mactronic, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. Mactronic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #1
    I have G4 powerbook 17"/ 1gig + 512mb, (non-intel)
    I've been running 10.2.8 since I first bought it a few years ago and I want to get the most recent osx version that will run on my computer.
    Is it tiger?....10.4.....? Or is it Leopard?
    Will upgrading my memory from 512mb to uhmmm...whatever the upgrade is,
    help with the newer version of osx?
    Please help.
    Thanks
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    What is the clock speed of your computer? If its over 1.25 GHz I would say just upgrade the to the max (hopefully 1.5 Gb) and you should be ok with 10.5 (Leopard). Otherwise, even though the minimum clock speed for Leopard is 867 MHz, I would still say go with Tiger (and still max out that RAM!!!).
     
  3. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #3
    It should run Leopard OK, maybe up it to 2 GBs of RAM, but you will notice a little slow down (more or less, depending on the speed of your PowerBook).
     
  4. Mactronic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #4
    clock speed?

    I'm not sure what clock speed is. It has 1ghz and 512mb....does that help?

    I am pretty sure it can be upped to 1 gb of ram...from 512.
    As far as upping from 1ghz....as far as I know that is not possible.
    Does anyone know any different?
     
  5. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #5
    Ah, 1 GHz, you can still upgrade to 2 GBs of RAM, but you might not want to go with Leopard. Sure you're faster than the minimum requirement, but you won't like the slowdown on your slower-end-of-the-spectrum machine, so I'd say it'd be best if you just go with Tiger.
     
  6. Mactronic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #6
    ....Toaster...are you sure....?

    Are you sure I can go to 2gb of ram?
    As far as I know I can only go to 1gb of ram from 512mb.
    If 2gb ram is possible?...how?
     
  7. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #7
  8. Mactronic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #8
    adopt a cat?

    Is there anywhere I can get a free tiger?
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9

Share This Page