Latest core2 duo imac under rosetta.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dogbone, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #1
    I know that there were some issues with non native cs apps but I'm wondering if anyone has any experience of Running the CS(1) suite, using a Core2duo iMac, with 256mb of Vram.
     
  2. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #2
    I run Photoshop CS and Image Ready CS under Rosetta and it's fine with this machine (2ghz C2D 17" iMac with 1Gb and the x1600). Just as fast, if not faster in every day use than my last revision PowerBook with 2GB Ram and 128 card.
     
  3. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #3
    Vram does not really matter much, but some reason I found that between a Core Duo and a Core 2 Duo there seems to be quite a big difference in performance for applications that run under Rosetta.
     
  4. dogbone thread starter macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #4
    That's excellent news. I was about to get a g5 because that's all I can afford right now but there's a specced up one on ebay at a pretty good price within p/u distance (500gig drive 2gigram and 256 card) and I'm tempted to beg borrow or earn the money somehow. But there's no way I wanted to upgrade when I don't need to. Thanks.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    dangit i missed out by 5 days... if i was more patient i would have had the C2D.. ahwell that was a long time ago now!
     

Share This Page