Latest iOS 5 beta and hotspot

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by buryyourbrideau, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Welp, its gone for me at least now...

    Worked in every other version.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. FearlessFreep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #2
    And you expected Apple wouldn't close the loophole? :confused:

    Be happy you got it for two betas. Pay for it or JB if you need it.
     
  3. The Tos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo, New York
    #3
    I tired jailbreaking for other reasons and i couldnt get apps to open properly. They would crash right away.
     
  4. buryyourbrideau thread starter macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    What's with the attitude? Of course I knew it would be gone, just mentioning it finally is.
     
  5. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/9A5259f Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'm ready for a new beta. I know I will get the "it's a beta" spiel. I know this, I was well aware when I updated to it. However as far as fluidity goes, beta 2 was much, much better. As far as apps opening and closing, iOS 5 I faster than four, but beta 3 isn't as smooth as even beta 2 was for me. As far as the hotspot, usually when I reboot it comes back up for a little while. I managed to tether about 4GB out of it while our neighborhood had repairs done for a ISP to upgrade out connection. Which btw was only 2.5-6mbps before, is now up to 20!! Woot woot, took me barely more than a hour to download lion.
     
  6. buryyourbrideau thread starter macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    I'm getting an insanely heavy amount of force closes compared to the last beta.
     
  7. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A5274d Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yeah I got a ton and them decided to install beta 3 again yesterday and all is well. Then beta 4 came out, and it's the fastest, smoothest yet. Likely faster than any iOS 4 release yet.
     
  8. Daniel97 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #8
    Will personal hotspot be turned off for the public release?

    i use it a lot on 4.3.4 to tether my MBP or iPad when I'm out
     
  9. jredecop macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #9
    Mine no longer works..is it because i did a clean restore and didn't restore from backup when coming from beta 2? Beta 3 and 4 haven't worked for me.
     
  10. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    they're not ditching personal hotspot, just there was a glitch in an earlier version where you could do it without your phone provider charging you for it, which has now been corrected
     
  11. brapmac740 macrumors member

    brapmac740

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    #11

    "kick his _ _ _ See Bass!" *pumps fist.
     
  12. Martinsalas310 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Nampa, idaho
    #12
    more info needed.
    what firmware u running and what u using to jailbreak.
    from what u have said i assumee u use redsnow and have a tethered jailbreak.
    this means u have to use redsnow to reboot ur device in jailbroken state.
     

Share This Page