iPhone Launch apps from notification center

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by brilliantthings, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. brilliantthings macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #1
    Appscenter on iOS 5 let you launch apps from the notification center. Appscenter is not yet compatible with iOS 6. Are there any alternative Cydia tweaks?
     
  2. fizz7283 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #2
    Unfortunately no. I used and loved this tweak as well. That and status bulletin were the only two tweaks that I used that are not, and most likely will never be, updated for iOS 6.1.
     
  3. brilliantthings thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #3
    Found it!

    There's a terrific app called "QuickDo (Activator)" that lets you put apps on the lock screen.

    It also has a lot more gestures than those available on Activator. You need to install "QuickDo (Activator)" for it to be compatible with Activator. It has some not so useful features, but some terrific ones too.

    Available at repo: http://cydia.clezz.com

    PS In the app description it says iOS 3.x~5.x, but it has been updated to work with iOS 6.
     
  4. TM WAZZA macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    #4
    I just use WidgetTask. It's the multi tasking switcher put into Notification Center.
     
  5. brilliantthings thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #5
    That looks good too. I'll try it.

    ----------

    WidgetTask puts the App Switcher in NC, not app shortcuts, as far as I can tell. QuickDo puts shortcuts to apps on the Lock Screen so you can open them from there. Appscenter put app shortcuts in NC, which I preferred, but having them on the Lock Screen is pretty good, too.
     
  6. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Thanks for the tip regarding QuickDo. I've been searching for an AppCenter replacement for two days and this is the best solution so far. It's not ideal but gives me quick access to the 5 apps I need fast. Thank you.

    For those that don't know, it costs $4.99 which is a bit pricy and while it does have a lot of features or rather options, most are useless. What irritates me the most is the constant popup asking you to buy (you get a three day trial, which it constantly reminds you of) every damn time you change a screen. I'll probably buy it but that kind of of high pressure tactic just p!sses me off.
     
  7. brilliantthings thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #7
    I know what you mean. For me, to have three finger swipe up and down gestures, is worth $5. (That might sound ridiculous.) I actually bought it before I knew about the App shortcuts feature. But yeah, it is a bit much. Not a fan of the QuickDo toolbar it comes with, either.
     
  8. fizz7283 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #8
    Not worth it to me because I don't use lock screen, but thanks for the tip anyway.

    I hope in the future app center is updated for 6.1. I imagine the developer is just busy right now, it's the same dev who makes springtomize.
     
  9. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    Yeah I agree the QuickDo toolbar is a bit weird. I added the apps I need and while its okay on the lockscreen it's odd on the home screen. It keeps showing the apps that I removed from the toolbar. It shows the apps I added but two are off-screen to the right so it's kind of useless. I do hope that the dev updates AppCenter. That's a brilliant little tweak.
     
  10. brilliantthings thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
  11. glsillygili macrumors 6502

    glsillygili

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    New York
  12. brilliantthings thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #12
    Why did you post sbsettings?
     
  13. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #13
    Yeah, sbsettings is not what we're talking about. Yes you can add apps to the slide out toolbar but that's too many taps. Appscenter is one slide and one tap.

    ----------

    Thanks I didn't realize it was updated. I was checking every day but he didn't change the version number so I didn't realize it was updated. Now my JB is perfect. Thanks for the heads up, it could have been a while before I realized.
     
  14. fizz7283 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #14
    Awesome that it's been updated, but I just switched to using activator menus instead. Still keeps my home screen free of icons and it also eliminates a tweak.
     
  15. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #15
    I don't know what you mean regarding Activator menus. Can you detail it out for me please?
     
  16. fizz7283 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #16
    In activators settings there's a place where you can set up menus. I just have one menu with all apps and I have it set where I access it with double pressing of home button. It's really convenient.
     

Share This Page