Launchpad app name missing

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by coldwaves, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. coldwaves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #1
    After a clean install of macOS Sierra, I found that one app's name is missing in the Launchpad. The app is the statistical software R. The icon of the app appear in launchpad but there is no app name "R" under the icon. All other apps have the app name underneath but just this one is missing. If I changed the name of this app in the application folder to something else, it shows up in launchpad. If I rename other app to "R", the name will disappear in the launchpad. I am wondering if the name "R" is something special that it does not show up. I did not have this problem in El Capitan.

    Anyone else has experienced this or know why?
     
  2. panzer06, Sep 28, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016

    panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #2
    I restarted my iMac with my macOS Sierra installation and I tested this... and you're right. Once I changed the name of a couple of apps to "R" the name no longer showed up in the LaunchPad; just the icon for the app.

    Now that I'm back on El Capitan I wonder if you've tried any other single letter names to see if it applies to all the letters of the Alphabet?
     
  3. coldwaves thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #3
    I am back on El Capitan as well and I do not have this problem. I have tried to rename iMovie to A, B, C or D and its names show up fine in Launchpad. It seems "R" is something special in macOS sierra.
     
  4. coldwaves thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #5
    After updating to 10.12.1, and updating R to 3.3.2, the problem still persist. R app still misses the app name in Launchpad.
     
  5. MacTygger macrumors newbie

    MacTygger

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    #6
    I have the same problem haha, I started with this problem on El Capitan and I solve it changing the the name of "R" to "R Code", It is so curios hahah, I type the problem on google and I find it here!..
     
  6. coldwaves thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #7
    The problem seems to persists with 10.12.4. I have also updated R to 3.4.0. I have no idea why this occurs. It seems to be an issue on the MacOS end, not on the R end.
     
  7. coldwaves thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    #8
    This issue seems to be resolved in 10.13. Now the app name for R appears normally.
     
  8. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #9
    Great, as soon as I see some reviews on the new 10.13.2 I consider it.
     

Share This Page