LCD HDTV or LCD Monitor?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Puppyyy, Apr 3, 2009.

1. Puppyyy macrumors newbie

So basically what I want to do is watch TV in HD and have a second larger display for my White book..
    I've done some searching and have found mixed views on whether to get an HDTV or monitor to use as both tv and monitor. Of course being a broke college student I'm looking for the cheapest route possible, with best picture quality possible... so far I've found that monitors are generally much cheaper but I'm not sure how the quality of TV would be on a monitor.

Another thing is, I know that if i get an HDTV i will be able to watch tv and hook up my macbook (using mini DVI adapter) as soon as its out of the box.
    But, I know that is not true for the other way around, in my apartment I only have the coaxial cable connecting straight from my old CRT TV to the wall. Will i need to buy a cable box or something to get cable TV to run on an LCD monitor?

Also, does anyone know if its possible to get my macbook resolution 1280x800 to fit perfectly on a 1080p HDTV with no overlap or loss of the sides of the screen? Would a mini DVI to HDMI cable work?
    Thanks in advance ^_^:D

2. newbynate macrumors newbie

Hd Tv

I'm setting up my gf with this exact set up. Depending on your macbook model you can either standard run dual monitors or download a app that enables it (instead of just mirror).

A macbook and an HDTV 1080p LCD HD TV (Not Plasma). either use a DVI to HDMI cable or alot of the tvs even have DVI Inputs. the macbook can output other resolutions, you can get almost (or full HD) if you go into system preferences and look at your output resolutions once you plug in the TV. I think its the best and cheapest set up you can do if you want a decent TV and external monitor in one.

3. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

velocityg4

LCD Monitor (make sure it has HDMI, DVI and spdif output assuming you will hook up a 5.1 stereo)
    Advantages