LCD ready to replace CRT for colour?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lurcher, Dec 20, 2007.

1. lurcher macrumors regular

lurcher

Hi folks

I am a graphic/web designer and have been using a Lacie CRT with hood for 5 years now. I get really tired eyes after a days work and heard that a LCD screen will help as it doesn't flicker all the time?

Question is, has the colour quality reached a point where my work won't suffer if I get one? Will it make a difference to my eyes?

I would probably get another Lacie but if you think the Apple monitors are good enough - or any other suggestions - I would be grateful for your input.

Cheers, and Merry Christmas!

2. HotdogGiambi macrumors newbie

Re: LCD ready to replace CRT for colour?

I do graphics work as well and had a LaCie for years. But I did eventually get an 23 inch Apple Cinema Display. Its not that great for color however. And my ACD just died a few days ago. If you're looking for a great LCD monitor that can be calibrated to be color accurate, I'd look at the Ezios monitors: http://www.eizo.com/ These are used for medical imaging and are without a doubt the best on the market.

LaCie also makes some good LCD monitors. If the Ezios are too expensive then I'd also look at the Samsungs and the Dell. They are far less than the Apple displays and have a better contrast ratio. There is some speculation that Apple may introduce a new line of LCD monitors at MacWorld in January if you think you want to wait and see if Apple produces a decent new model too.

Good luck. Let us know what you wind up with.

3. dollystereo macrumors 6502a

dollystereo

The Apple 23" is a great monitor, i use it for video color correction.
    You should try one, the EIZOS are great but to expensive.
    Dell and Samsung cant compare to an Apple Display or a EIZO, dont even try...
    The apple cinema display can use color sync with your mac thats very nice.