LCD to RETINA on MBA 2014

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by kmica, Sep 8, 2014.

  1. kmica macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    #1
    Hi there
    Does anibody know if it is posiblle to replace LCD display entirely with RETINA display on MBA 2014 ?:(

    Thank you
     
  2. Devie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Probably. With a lot of hacking. And the GPU wouldn't like it.


    You'd be better off getting a MBP and taking it to a belt sander. Higher chance of still working at the end of it.
     
  3. kmica thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    #3
    Sorry I am new on Mac , what is the BELT SANDER?
     
  4. Lunfai macrumors 65816

    Lunfai

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #4
    Impossible. The display unit is not only thicker but it's not a plug and play process.
     
  5. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #5
    that's hilarious!!!!
    i laugh out loud when i read this. Thank you :D

    ----------

    google is your friend mate:
    https://www.google.com/search?site=...1ac.1.53.img..0.11.545.MCzxnUE94qk&gws_rd=ssl
     
  6. temna macrumors 6502a

    temna

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #6
    Technically, it's possible. I've done this to PC laptops and netbooks before. It would be a PITA, finding the right panel, possibly modifying the connectors, but it is technically possible. Worth it? Probably not. But it would be a fun frankenproject.
     
  7. Lachhh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #8
    This would be my chief concern in this case. Wouldn't want to see UI performance after that hack has been performed. I'd put my bet on the UI lag being somewhere between mildly barf-inducing and shambolic.
     

Share This Page