Leaked Apple Pro Display ??!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AlexMaximus, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502a

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #1
    Hi folks,

    What are the chances that we CMP5.1 owners can upgrade to the all-new Apple Pro display?

    Will it work?

    Will Apple give us a nice Christmas present for the 5.1 crowd that is resistant on getting a new machine?



    What are the chances, give me your opinion on this one!

    :):):)
     
  2. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Something more than one single, solitary, likely Photoshopped picture of a hand holding a supposed Quick Start guide, and maybe I'll start to get curious...
     
  3. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    A 5K/8K display will need connections that are not available on a Mac Pro. Probably will be a Thunderbolt 3 display, that excludes MP5,1 and MP6,1.
     
  4. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
  5. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #5
    id be willing to bet money that thats just some sort of stock placeholder image that Apple made.
     
  6. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #6
    I bet that is fake or like @satinsilverem2 said, a placeholder image, but we are missing the point: a 5K/8K monitor will need DP1.4/TB3 to work and will not work with a Mac Pro.
     
  7. Factionrider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #7
    Want to prove yourself wrong? We already have it working in Windows and people are running the LG 5k in both Windows 10 and Mojave.

    PM me and I'll look into donating one for you to tinker with.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/testing-tb3-aic-with-mp-5-1.2143042/
     
  8. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    I would love to be proven wrong, but let's be honest, no 5K/8K monitor will ever work without a TB3 adaptor doing the pass-thru and lots of firmware initialisation and kexts support. It's not and never will be a plug-and-play situation, far from that, but maybe we can make it easier removing the need of booting Windows.

    It's an interesting project, btw.
     
  9. Factionrider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #9
    lol I was really hoping I could spend a little cash and get you working on it too.
     
  10. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #10
    I'll PM you.
     
  11. pat500000 Suspended

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
    Whatever the monitor will look like, it will not be for 5,1.
     
  12. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    one of the last linustextips videos explained the "joy" of 5K displays over thunderbolt, only now with the new chip do they work but not with intel graphics :oops:
    apple did it with a "hack" or something

    that display reviewed was will work over an display port and a RX 580 but it's a small 5K or something (ie not relay 5K lol)
     
  13. tpivette89 macrumors 6502

    tpivette89

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #13
    The word “PRO” is definitely photoshopped into picture. The rest is the insert that is included with every new 2018 Mac Mini
     
  14. aaronhead14 macrumors 6502a

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #14
    No, it's definitely real. It's from the actual Mac Mini "Getting Started" guide that ships with the computer. Check it out in the AppleInsider video.

    --- Post Merged, Nov 7, 2018 ---
    It's not Photoshopped. It's from the actual Mac Mini "Getting Started" guide. See above.
     
  15. frou macrumors 6502

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #15
    The new Apple display is going to have thin-ish black bezels and a metal stand, so how else would it look?

    I think this product is actually impossible to "spoil" aside from tech specs.
     
  16. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Paris
    #16
    That looks like a generic placeholder images because they won’t put a pic of a third party product in a start guide.

    But youtubers are this amazing species of genius. They would never create speculation for click bait...
     
  17. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    the next apple display will have LG on like the last one :p maybe
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    I am not sure what will happen on the next Apple display.

    However, for pure 5k / 8k display (up to 60Hz). DP 1.4 should able to do the job technically.

    Will there any manufacture make a DP 1.4 (but not TB3) 5k / 8k monitor is another matter. But I don't think it's impossible to have a plug and play 5k / 8k monitor for cMP.
     
  19. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    one thing to point out is a 8K display is only relay needed by some one who has a RED camera or relay likes videos from NASA


    5K i can see real use to when editing 4K video but in anything much less than 50" seems pointless so for 8K your going to want 80-100" display :eek:

    but to be fair like the 5K video i linked advertisers have started to take liberty with what 5K is ie not 5K more like 4K+ :rolleyes: so 8K may end up being not 8K but something much smaller?

    i relay like the 1080p 24" size, resolution not to big not to small and i can just see each pixel if i look up close which lets me check for dust/dead pixles on my stills/video etc..
    always liked philipbloom's views on 4K video, needs a relay big TV to matter and most normal people cant tell/care
    think it was something like he showed his mum and she told him it's nice to have a big tv :cool:

    saying that ill replace my 3 1080P displays with one big 4K display one day
     
  20. saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #20
    For Apple would it be an 8K retina display and run at 4K resolution? Apple does 4K at 21.5" so 8K would be a 43" screen. Apple would push it saying you no longer need multiple monitors.
     
  21. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #21
    Nope. Go to 1:32 Not fake but maybe placeholder image.

     
  22. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Paris
    #22
    Speaking as someone who had edited 8K Red it requires a machine with serious liquid cooling and very fast ram. Even 8700K/9900K CPU with 4GHZ ram can barely manage. So if you got a slower system with fan cooling your machine will be toast. Forget about notebooks. There is no notebook than can handle 8K raw editing. They will throttle down max.
     

Share This Page

21 November 7, 2018