Learning Programming - Input Please

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Ap0calyps0, Oct 26, 2011.

1. Ap0calyps0 macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie when it comes to programming, but I'd like to learn how to program for iOS. I have a patchwork understanding of programming in general, and I know I may lack some foundations, so I wanted to ask here what might be a suggested course of study to do at home to learn to program, ultimately for apps. I'm not looking to make money through the App Store or anything--just for the enjoyment of it in the few hours per week I have available. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks.

2. larswik macrumors 68000

This question is asked almost everyday here. When I started I started with the book "Learn C on the Mac" about 18 months ago. Other people will suggest that you start with Objective-C. Objective-C was to difficult for me to start with so I went back to C and got a good grasp of that.

Everyone is different.

3. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

You could also try Aaron Hillegass' new book. Objective-C Programming

It provides pretty much all you need to know of C in the first 70 pages and then moves on to Objective-C.

Personally, I find Kochan's book more in depth and integrate. As larswik says everyone is different, but programming is best learned by doing.

B

4. smashatom macrumors newbie

Old school

Call me old school, but I think all programmers should start by learning C. And the best C book out and ever published is The C Programming Language by Kernighan and Ritchie.

Most programming languages in use today have some syntactic similarity with C.

5. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

Once you've learned C, move on to Stanford's free iOS programming Lectures available on iTunes U.

6. firewood, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2011

firewood macrumors 604

Learning to program is hard (some people flunk out!). Learning to program for iOS makes it even harder.