Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shaun319

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 4, 2010
New York City
I'm not sure about the latest research however in medical school (I graduated in 2007) I was taught that aniline dyes had previously been associated with bladder cancers. I initially bought the black leather smart case for iPad 2 but returned it when I read on the box that Apple made the cause my using aniline to dye italian leather. I bought the leather case because of the color but I returned I could not get it off my mind. Does anyone else on the boards know anything about aniline dyes? I am sure Apple has done its research but I just could not keep the case knowing what I knew.

mcdj

macrumors G3
Jul 10, 2007
NYC
Wikipedia is your friend.

Toxicology

Aniline is toxic by inhalation of the vapour.[8] The IARC lists it in Group 3 (not classifiable as to its carcinogenicity to humans) due to the limited and contradictory data available. The early manufacture of aniline resulted in increased incidents of bladder cancer, but these effects are now attributed to naphthylamines, not anilines.[1]

dseig001

macrumors member
Apr 28, 2009
I'm not sure about the latest research however in medical school (I graduated in 2007) I was taught that aniline dyes had previously been associated with bladder cancers. I initially bought the black leather smart case for iPad 2 but returned it when I read on the box that Apple made the cause my using aniline to dye italian leather. I bought the leather case because of the color but I returned I could not get it off my mind. Does anyone else on the boards know anything about aniline dyes? I am sure Apple has done its research but I just could not keep the case knowing what I knew.

Intern checking in....