Leatherheads... anyone else having Handbrake issues ?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by EarthDawn, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. EarthDawn macrumors 6502a

    EarthDawn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Long-eye Land, NY
    #1
    This dvd keeps shutting down handbrake....

    never had it happen like this before... even going title specific wont work. It keeps shutting it down.

    As well I tried to play the DVD on my iMac with Quicktime player it it shut that down too ...


    any thoughts ?
     
  2. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #2
    Are you using a 3rd party ripper (as recommended by the Handbrake devs)?
     
  3. EarthDawn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EarthDawn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Long-eye Land, NY
    #3

    yea... Im usng Hand Brake....


    or are you saying I need to use Mac the ripper first ?
     
  4. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #4
    Who cares this is the worst, most boring, movie ever....It does not deserve to be on my apple tv...but it is, worst 14.99 i have ever spent.
     
  5. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #5
    Handbrake cannot decrypt all of the newer protection schemes out there... instead of devoting tons of time to chasing down every new one the studios release, the Handbrake team has said they leave ripping to other programs and have been concentrating on the encoding side of things.
     
  6. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
  7. ibglowin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    #7
    Leatherheads had a new twist to it in the DRM protection area. Check out the Slysoft forums. They issued a new patch just for this movie.

    I gave up on MTR years ago. Just not worth all the crap the developer puts you through to get a simple update. I have an old PC that I run AnyDVD on. Get a cleaned up copy and then use Handbrake to import to :apple:TV.

    Works everytime.
     
  8. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    That's what I do as well. I use AnyDVD and then send the files over to handbrake, works with every movie I throw at it.
     
  9. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #9
    There is no doubt, anydvd for windows is the gold standard in rippers. :)
     
  10. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #10
    Tried MactheRipper over my lunch break. NO DICE. :(
    This is the FIRST movie I've ever had fail with Handbrake, let alone MactheRipper.
     
  11. mjohns9888 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #11
    AnyDVD and Handbrake

    Can you please tell me how you do that? I know how to use AnyDVD with CloneDVD2, but I am not familiar with how to use it and send a file over to Handbrake.

    Thank you in advance for your help.
    MJ
     
  12. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #12
    Thank the special DRM. You're likely to need the latest version of a ripping program to do it, and not all of them have updated yet.
     
  13. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #13
    I have the updated versions of both programs, FYI.
     
  14. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #14
    its a tough one. HB won't touch it, even with title only.
    I do notice that when playing it in dvdplayer.app if you change the display in the main feature to title/chapter the main feature shows as title 33 and chapter 50 or something like that. Definitely strange mastering. dvd player app even has issues navigating it.
     
  15. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #15
    Then MtR hasn't been updated to compensate for this new protection.
     
  16. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #16
    A safe assumption. ;)
     
  17. bking1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #17
    Got Leatherheads from Netflix to watch on my Philips DVD/DVR. Won't play. Returned it and got copy #2. Still no dice. Called Philips. It's a "known issue" with no patch. Thought -- "I'll handbrake it, then play it on my iPod" (once only, of course, and then delete it :)

    Nope. HB can't see it. So, the security on the movie is sooooo good that not only can I not HB it, I can't even watch it! What great security. As some have noted, though, maybe my Philips has a feature that saves me from boring movies!
     

Share This Page