Leaving AT&T DSL 3.0 Mbps for Comcast HSI 16 Mbps

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by SFStateStudent, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #1
    Making the move from AT&T DSL Pro 3.0 Mbps to Comcast HSI 16 Mbps this morning. I tried to upgrade to AT&T DSL Elite 6.0 Mbps for $5 more, but it's not available at my house due to the distance from their central office. Lately, AT&T has been repeatedly rebooting to often and extremely slow for one reason or another. I'll post the results of a speed test this afternoon:

    (This morning's test at 9:40am):

    [​IMG]
     
  2. SFStateStudent thread starter macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
  3. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #3
    ya for standard residential comcast is pretty good. the only issues are their high price, 250 GB limit(not that ive ever crossed it), and that you cant host a web site(even though i do), or email server. But anyway, i guess welcome to the club haha.
     
  4. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #4
    I have comcast and I can't go back to anything else because the speed is so nice.
     
  5. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #5
    what about Fios? thats even faster and resonably priced. I'd get it but they dont have it here.
     
  6. SFStateStudent thread starter macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #6
    I looked into Verizon FiOS and first thing was that it wasn't available in my area.:mad: Second, it cost $43 per month v. $33 with Comcast 16Mbps but has been averaging 26,000kbps/4,000kbps, so I'm getting my monies worth. Maybe when I move...:cool:
     
  7. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #7
    how are u getting comcast internet for 33 bucks? i can only get comcast internet for about 45 with tv service and 55 without tv service.
     
  8. SFStateStudent thread starter macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #8
    Intro offer for 12 months, w/phone, TV/DVR is about $139 total...
     
  9. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #9
    oh yea. i thought u meant non promo price... haha
     
  10. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #10
    holy

    [​IMG]

    :D:D:D:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::p:p:p:p:):D:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

    i love it. i live in portland but dont use the portland server. its slower than the Seattle server.
     
  11. SFStateStudent thread starter macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #11
    ^^^ Sweet, but take a look at this most recent speedtest:

    [​IMG]

    Does it get any sweeter with Comcast HSI? (you got me beat in the Upload stats):D:p:cool:
     
  12. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #12
    i actualy got up above 30 too one time(after like 20 trys but just barely) my ping got all the way down to 8. crazy. i just wish comcast's dns was better, right now im using open dns. but if the portland server was better i would defenatly be over 30, u know 25 miles vs 150 miles... i just need to find a site that can let me download at 25+ Mbs. lol
     
  13. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #13
    Ugh we have AT&T too for our Internet (the 3.0 plan) and it's SLOWWWWW! My dad doesn't care... all he does is eBay and e-mail. But my mom watches TV on her laptop while my sister and I are using our computers for everything. My dad pays the bill though, so I guess it's up to him.

    The problem with Comcast though is the bandwidth cap - we use about 500GB/month in my house.
     
  14. No1451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #14
    Wow, thats ridiculous. $55 in Canada for 10Mbps down and 1Mbps up. 95Gb cap.


    You people are spoiled.
     

Share This Page