Leaving for College

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Phat_Pat, Sep 4, 2007.

1. Phat_Pat macrumors 68000

Phat_Pat

So I am a freshman leaving for college on friday. This will be my first time living alone and in a new environment.

you guys have any recommendations or stories you want to share that could possibly make my transition more enjoyable? perhaps some shenanigans...

2. adk macrumors 68000

adk

You'll make a lot more friends if you leave your dorm room door open. Invest in a good doorstop.

3. lamina macrumors 68000

lamina

I second that.

Just be yourself and you'll be fine. Living away from home is a huge change.

Invest in a decent microwave. Also, make friends with the network admin if you can :)

4. Chundles macrumors G4

Chundles

1. Try everything once.

2. Get to the dining room/hall early - the food's better when it's hot.

3. If you're moving away study that map of the town/campus well, nothing says "First Year" like a kid with a massive backpack toting a map.

4. Personalise your room ASAP so you have your own little space you can call home - then get a bunch of mates in for a massive pis*-up and trash it.

5. Get a good kettle.

6. If you have a fridge, keep it stocked. Before a big night on the turps fill it up with water so it's cold and ready for when you get home.

7. Chicks dig chocky biscuits, keep a packet or two in the fridge for the random drop-in.

8. "Why put off till tomorrow what you can put off till next week."

9. No Escher posters.

10. Be kind, generous and accepting, you don't have to make life-long friends right away. People settle down after O-Week so that's when they're most likely going to get to know you.

11. Toga...ToGA.....TOGA!!!!

5. Iscariot macrumors 68030

Iscariot

6. tomoisyourgod macrumors regular

best years of your life await you!

everyone's in the same boat, so you'll all end up gettin hammered - so my advice is use protection... ;)

7. imac/cheese macrumors 6502a