LED display lifespan. (Unibody MBP)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sn0warmy, Jul 27, 2009.

1. sn0warmy macrumors 6502a

sn0warmy

I did a search on here with no results. I'm going to look more into it in other sources as well. But I figured I would ask the question here as this is more of a targeted audience.

I have a 2 month od 15" Unibody MBP. I am extremely happy with it and want it to last. I work in marketing where I am forced to use my laptop at work M-F 8-5 with illustrator, Photoshop, Indesign etc.

This means that I have my built in monitor displaying everything for very long periods of time. I know that with the old displays they would start to dim over time as the light source began to fade. I've heard that these new LED displays don't fade at all. They are either completely on and working or they completely die (based on the technology behind LED).

My questions:
    Am I really hurting my display by using it 40 hours a week on the brightest light settings? Should I really consider going out and picking up a nice external monitor and use that instead?

EDIT: After doing a little research I found this information on LED lifespan based on today's technology...

"Solid state devices such as LEDs are subject to very limited wear and tear if operated at low currents and at low temperatures. Many of the LEDs produced in the 1970s and 1980s are still in service today. Typical lifetimes quoted are 25000 to 100000 hours but heat and current settings can extend or shorten this time significantly."

Found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light-emitting_diode#Lifetime_and_failure

2. bli625 macrumors 6502a

bli625

I'm not sure..
    But.. I think you should just use it the way you want to. I mean.. you bought your laptop to use it right? Why waste more money on an external..

3. sn0warmy thread starter macrumors 6502a

sn0warmy

I found this information interesting:

Found here: http://www.lunaraccents.com/educational-white-LED-life.html

LED Lifespan