LED Display

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by justinhasnohops, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. justinhasnohops macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #1
    I have a 13" MB. If I purchased the LED Display would I be able to use it as a so to say, seperate computer. I know it's just a screen but would I only be able to use one computer at a time or can I access different screens and stuff on both.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    I'm not sure what you're asking. Different operating systems? Not exactly, but you could run a virtualized copy of Windows fullscreen on one display.
     
  3. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I think he's asking if he can hook multiple computers to it at a time, to see his mac, then switch to the windows PC, etc. .


    I don't think that's possible, but you could always just plug it into another computer to use it with that as long as the connections support it. Macs use DVI/Mini DVI, PCs usually use VGA. You'd have to either make sure it has the VGA for a PC, or find an adaptor for VGA to DVI (if that even exists).
     
  4. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You want to use a KVM by the sounds of it. It will obviously need to be compatible with everything
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    I don't know of any Mini DisplayPort KVMs. :p
     
  6. justinhasnohops thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #6
    I'm simply asking if I can use the Macbook the same time as the LED.
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Yes. Your Cinema Display is in no way a computer.
     
  8. Objectivist-C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    #8
    There was nothing simple about the original question. :p

    Yes, as indicated above, you can either span the desktop across both screens, or mirror the MacBook display to the Cinema Display, or run the MacBook closed and use only the CD.
     
  9. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Ah, too true. You would have to use the adaptor, although not sure if that would work.

    It's now completely irrelevant as the OP expained him/herself a bit better
     

Share This Page