Left 4 Dead 2 and gamepads....

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Rychiar, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. Rychiar macrumors 6502

    Rychiar

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Waterbury, CT
    #1
    So i bought a Logitech dual action controller thinking it would just work with L4D2 when enabled but the default setting is useless and when i map the buttons myself from within the game its still useless cus there's no way to map the second analog stick to act like a mouse and allow you to look around. This is so frustrating. can anyone help?:mad:
     
  2. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Why would you want to use a controller? The PC/Mac version of L4D2 is designed for the precision input of the mouse and keyboard, unlike the 360 version which is optimised (in other words, a lot more forgiving in terms of aim) for the controller?

    Whilst you may be used to the controller as your input method, I promise you that once you're used to it a mouse and keyboard will blow the controller out the water.
     
  3. bmb012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #3
    L4D2 works perfectly with a 360 controller (well, aside from thinking right stick click was start, but that might be because I have so many custom driver and keyboard emulator stuff installed). No clue how they're doing it, since it's not built into the system like it is in Windows. Rumble works perfectly too, which the hacked USB driver doesn't do properly.

    So yeah, buy a wired 360 controller or a wireless with the USB dongle, they're by far the best USB gamepads you can get for a PC.
     
  4. Rychiar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rychiar

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Waterbury, CT
    #4
    well my girlfriend is used to console gaming and refuses to play it with a mouse so i went and ordered 2 of these logitech dual action controlllers assuming they'd work fine but no matter what i download or try to do i can't get that right stick to aim. I've heard about the 360 controllers working but im not sure i want to go out and buy one of those now after just getting these :confused:
     
  5. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #5
    Can we give you dating advice instead ... :)

    Silly question, but are you plugging in the gamepad before launching the game? I know that in order to use the 360 pad, that has to be the case.

    BUT really, this is the PC version, the zombies won't give a rat's arse if you're aiming like a sluggish-robot. Why is it that both of you have to be subjected to such a slow input?
     
  6. Rychiar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rychiar

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Waterbury, CT
    #6
    I'm really not much of a gamer myself but the game was cheap and fun and i figured controllers would be easiest. I don't mind the keyboard and mouse that much but i would def need to reprogram the keyboard cus i hate the default direction buttons. As for the controller yes i keep it plugged into my imac. It's a logitech dual action. if i got an xbox official pad and plugged that in would that work so easily?
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Console typically have auto-aim, but computers don't. Using controller is gimping yourself.

    Contact gamepad manufacturer for support?
     
  8. Slux macrumors member

    Slux

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #8
    Friend of mine has the exact same problem with his Logitech controller. It used to work just fine using some tailored config files (pretty easy to find with google), but after the most recent DLC/patch, it no longer works.

    Our current theory is that the left-over XBox code that allowed the game to be played split-screen with controllers has now been removed from the PC version. Hope we're wrong about this though.
     
  9. Slux macrumors member

    Slux

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #9
    So my mate fixed his logitech controller problem.
    Dunno if it will help you, but his description of the fix is:

    (This was on PC btw)
     

Share This Page