Left 4 dead doesnt work through crossover?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by aluminumapple, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. aluminumapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #1
    iv checked the compatibility page on codeweavers and it says left 4 dead works nicely through steam.

    on the otherhand there is apparently an issue over at youtube where when you open left 4 dead there is no menu.. does anyone eles have any issues like this, that are using crossover to play left 4 dead?
     
  2. k3lit0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #2
    Going to go ahead and bump this by adding I have the same problem. I can get the game to open but there is no text. I can navigate through the menu to start a game but as soon as the long load time ends it crashed without any errors- just closes itself. Anyone have any idea at least how to keep the game up and running, and at least PLAY the game? A menu fix would be awesome but I'd settle for that.

    Thanks in advance. Any tips on getting this game to work on my iMac would be very helpful. I'm willing to use bootcamp, virtualbox, crossover, whatever it takes as long as I can have working Left 4 Dead AND a working mic- which I can't seem to manage BOTH of. :(
     
  3. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #3
    no menu's for me either. i posted on the crossover site here and got an official but lacklustre reply
     
  4. Macbeezle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #4
    I know someone who's running L4D fine on their Mac via Cider. Crossover isn't the best way to play games in my opinion.
     
  5. k3lit0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
  6. jelmerjt macrumors newbie

    jelmerjt

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    Zwolle, NL
    #6
    Someone just posted a fixed cider port on brokenstones by the way:).
     
  7. Supaklaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Please post any and all information regarding running this on cider. :)
     
  8. egg88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #8
    when i play lots of things dont get rendered and are just all black, like the lights that shine through the windows in no mercy, level 2 in the generator room, i dont see the light going through the windows... just big long black lines that look solid, the boomer blood actually hovers next to me as a solid grey block, the boomer when he throws up is just all grey
    i dont think crossover has completely fixed this issue
    running the latest crossovergames
     
  9. Supaklaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    How did you launch it, and do you have an ATI or nVidia card?
     
  10. egg88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #10
    noi have the x3100 chip *head desk*
     
  11. Supaklaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    Yeah it seems anyone with nVidia card can't play it.
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    That's Intel, not nVidia. ;)
     
  13. Supaklaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13

Share This Page