Left 4 dead on mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by andizzzy, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. andizzzy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #1
    i have the older intel duo iMac(the one just before they released the newest one)

    it has ati x1600

    could i run left 4 dead via parallels or bootcamp or etc.

    and which one would have the optimal results
     
  2. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #2
    Bootcamp. Play it as 1024x768 or 1280x856 with low/medium.
     
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    Bootcamp will run it fine, I've got an X1600 too but O/C to high heaven (tip: Apple really underclock their graphics cards, get Omega Drivers and throw it up to 450mhz for GPU/Memory and you'll be able to play with higher settings for the performance).
     
  4. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #4
    I am hoping this game will run in Crossover Games. Is it the new Steam engine or the Steam engine for CS:S?
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    There's only 1 Steam engine and it gets constantly updated, so it'll be using an updated version of the HL2: Ep2 engine. Though how updated it is we won't know till it's out.
     
  6. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #6
    I thought there was the original HL2 engine used by old Source games and then new TF2 Source based engine that incorporates newer technologies.

    Anyways - heres hoping Codeweavers gets off their lazy butts :p
     
  7. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #7
    do you think that this would run on the new MB?

    ChrisN
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    Yes there is, to answer your original question it's technically the same engine, but a much evolved version. So it's yes and no... Awkwardly :D

    It's a shame it's not backwards compatible too. Would love to run through HL2 with the updated EP2 graphics engine.

    Would it run on a new MB? Probably not. Looking at the system specs it'll run okay on my iMac with it's X1600 graphics card. So you might get it running on low. It's the graphics card that lets it down, everything else is perfect.
     
  9. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #9
    really? I thought that it would be like tf2 or something but I guess we'll have to wait until the game comes out and people posts vids and stuff.

    ChrisN
     
  10. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #10
    Well it is pretty scalable. Low quality on any new Source game would look the same as Low quality on the earlier titles. Which gives me hope that it'll run at least okay on my machine.
     

Share This Page