Legal Advice. UK Ideally!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by thecritix, Apr 8, 2008.

1. thecritix macrumors 6502

Hi Everyone
    I'm a student staying in halls in the UK, the problem with our halls is that rather than being owned by the university, they're owned by a private company who do everything they can to save money or charge us extra.

Basically they've gone too far this time and are taking away our cleaners, and saying we have to clean the kitchens ourselves. (We clean our own rooms) Previously the kitchens were cleaned once a week

Now, I wouldn't object to this if it wasn't that its now 2/3 through the year, we're still going to be paying the same and over £100 a week is a massive amount of money for student halls!

In the contract it states that 'Shared areas shall be cleaned and rubbish shall be removed PERIODICALLY however the trust cannot be held responsible for any TEMPORARY problems with this due to third parties'

(Thats not the exact wording but periodically and temporary are the key words) Periodically doesn't really enter into it, as they're not going to do it at all.

Temporary well they've admitted in an email its a 'from now on' thing.

What I wanted to know is what rights I have, If i threaten to sue them would i have a case, could they have a get out elsewhere in the contract saying 'these terms can be changed at our discretion' or something like that, which would let them get round them?'
    Is that legal?

Just after some advice really!

Cheers
    Nick

2. djellison macrumors 68020

I got out of Uni about 7 years ago - but experienced similar issues during my time as a student. Here's what I'd say.

-Pay your rent, on time, in full. Witholding rent doesn't work.
    -Try and speak to people in person instead of writing emails or letters
    -Find your renters agreement ( contract ) and take it to someone in charge