Legality of Reusing Code

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Karl King, Jul 6, 2013.

1. Karl King macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

What are the rules of using code that you find on the internet on sites such as this or on tutorials? I am not talking about copy/pasting every single line but taking snippets from here and there, so to speak. Also, I am primarily referring to code regarding basic game development such as character movement, parallax scrolling, menus and game over screens, etc. Is it legal to use this code (especially for commercial purposes), or does it depend on whether or not the owner specifies the right to reuse said code? I don't want to use anything that I should not be using, but I am very new to coding and there are things that I have found easy solutions to online that I otherwise would not have known how to properly code entirely on my own at this point.

I am imagining it depends entirely on the source and whether or not the owner allows this code to be reused, but I didn't know if there is more to this based on common law, public domain, or other laws.

Thanks again guys.

2. Tander macrumors 6502a

Tander

Pretty much this I would say. Depends who is providing the code and what permissions they give.

In most cases if the code is on a public forum, or site - I don't think the owner cares that much about who uses it.

Just ask first.

Alternatively - look at their code and see how you can improve on it. Should bring your skills up.

3. Karl King thread starter macrumors newbie