Legality of Using Same Disk for Reinstallation on Multiple Computers in T.S. Setting

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jlange, Oct 27, 2010.

1. jlange macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I work in Tech Services at my University, and I've been presented with this issue multiple times at work. I think my entire group of co-workers have just been living with the precedent, a notion that I think is entirely false. Here's an example of the situation:

A student comes in with a non-working MacBook, vintage 2006, say. Something's wrong with the OS itself.. the student probably deleted /etc or something, not knowing what it was. Regardless, the computer is effectively borked and a reinstallation of Mac OS X is in order. My co-workers, and even my boss, tell me that I need to have _their_ disk to perform the reinstallation.

I think that's wrong. Mac OS X installation disks are now all the same. Newer ones might have newer drivers for newer machines, but outside of that, so long as a person has a license to that version of Mac OS X which was on their computer, they can use whatever media they like. If they own a Mac, they have a license already to the version it came installed with.

I don't believe there is any breach of license or copyright here by simply having our own archive of installation media for Macs, so long as we install the same version that corresponds with their computer's default setup.

I do realize that doing this will lose their iLife installation and any other third-party software that they had their computer configured with, but I can say personally that I'd be more glad to have a working computer and no Office than a non-working computer and Office.

Anyone have some thoughts? I'd like someone with more IP/legal knowledge to share their thoughts.

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo