Lego Starwars II on a PowerMac G4 or PowerBook G4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by law guy, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. law guy macrumors 6502a

    law guy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    #1
    Hello - has anyone tried to load and play Lego Star Wars II on a G4 - I have a PowerMac (a dual 1.42) [two processors and 2 gigs of ram, 64 MB of VRAM) and a PowerBook 1.5 (one processor, but better graphics at 128 MBs on an ATI 9600). The requirements say any power pc at 1.6 or greater, but those sometimes overstate things. It looks like a great game.
     
  2. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #2
  3. law guy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    law guy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    #3
    Thanks for the link. I downloaded it to my PM Dual 1.42 and no luck there. The ATI 9000 card in that machine does not support the game. I'll give it a try on the Power Book - that card will at least support the game, but the system has less RAM. My g4 PM runs so well and is so well made (actually assembled in the US... that does make it seem old), but I'm facing the issue of deciding whether to put money into more upgrades (already have bumped the RAM to 2 GB and put in a new Pioneer DVD burner a few months back - the same 111D that you have), like an ATI 256 AGP card - that may or may not extend its capabilities. It looks like you've done some souping up of your PM TDM21.
     
  4. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #4
    Yeah, I started with a stock 2001 QuickSilver and slowly upgraded it over the course of 1.5 years. The processors came from Gigadesigns, RAM & burner from Newegg, and video card from the marketplace here in the forums. In the end I know a dropped a lot of money in the system, but it was for fun. The only games I play are Call of Duty and WoW and it runs them great.
     

Share This Page