Lens suggestions for Africa trip

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by sl1200mk2, Feb 20, 2012.

1. sl1200mk2 macrumors 6502

Hi,

I'm looking for lens suggestions for a trip I'm taking to Africa in late May. I typically don't shoot wildlife and normal usage is landscape scenes and normal vacation type stuff. I need to go for versatility rather than something wildlife or action specific.

I also need to stay (somewhat) reasonable in price as I'm already planning on adding a new body, Nikon D7000, while my wife takes our current D40 and its kit lens. Thankfully, I am going with an established nature photographer who'll have a selection of lenses, so there will be some opportunity to trade-out, but I can't rely on that all the time.

My initial choice is:

Nikon 18-200mm VR II

I also considered the Nikon 70-300mm VR, but I'm not sure. Seems like 18-200 has more versatility for me.

I'm a complete amateur and no aspirations otherwise. Simply want solid kit that will last for years (I tend to hang onto things for a very long time). I don't ever plan on having more than 2 or 3 lenses, so maximum versatility rather than outright specialty is key.

Opinions?

Thanks -

2. Bear macrumors G3

For the trip you're describing, the 70-300VR will be a bette than the 18-200.

I also suggest the 18-55VR to complement the 70-300VR.

3. allensobel macrumors newbie

I'm also going to Africa, in July.

I'm taking the new nikon d800 body (just ordered) and the AF-S 28-300VR lens.

In FX mode you get 28mm and in DX mode 450mm. One lens does it all.
    Assuming the low light capability is similar to the d700.

4. jabbott macrumors 6502

Here is a photography guide I found a few months ago that is African safari centric, which I know may not exactly match what you are looking for... however it does cover lens selections as well as many other topics.
    http://www.eyesonafrica.net/safari-photography.htm

5. dannyboy792 macrumors newbie

African Photography