Lens Suggestions for Sony A65 Camera

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by guzhogi, Jun 1, 2012.

1. guzhogi, Jun 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012

guzhogi macrumors 68030

guzhogi

I have a Sony alpha 65 DSLR camera. I was wondering what kinds of lenses you suggest? I'm an amateur photographer that just wants everyday kind of pictures. I have a 15 month old niece (who's totally cute, needless to say) that I want to take pictures, plus my dog who likes to run around like crazy. ANd take pictures of when I go on vacation (either landscapes or me w/ friends, etc.).

I have the 18-55mm lens that came with the camera, but want one that can do good macro stuff (like flowers) and telephoto stuff.

Also, any good flashes you guys suggest?

Other than Sony, what other companies make compatible lenses?

Thanks in advance!

2. ChrisA macrumors G4

The first thing is to decide exactly what is lacking with the current lens.

I bet if is simply to slow. A good second lens is a very fast prime. For people shots and dogs try the 50mm f/1.4 Or whatever you get make sure it is AT LEAST f/2.8 The wider aperture will allow a faster shutter speed and will allow you to blur out the background. I think a 50mm f/1.4 should be included with the camera (they always used to be) It is not zoom but I assume you have feet and can vary the subject to camera distance.

A low cost way to get into macro photography is to get a set of diopters. This look like screw-on filters but act just like reading glasses. They come in "powered" of +1, +2 or +5 or like that. Hoya makes them. The best brand is either Nikon or Canon. They work well and can be used with your existing lens.

You 18-55 is an EXCELENT land scape lens. But to improve your landscapes and absolutely REQUIRED for macros is a good tripod. A tripod will do much to improve both genre.

3. guzhogi thread starter macrumors 68030

guzhogi

Thanks for the advice!

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member