Leopard and Used Memory..?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SSpiro, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. SSpiro macrumors 6502a

    SSpiro

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    I've noticed in leopard that if I run an application, and it uses up say 1000mb of memory, and then I close that application, the memory doesn't free up - still shows as allocated.

    Hope this makes sense.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Closing the app via the red button does not equal quitting the app.
     
  3. SSpiro thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SSpiro

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    I realize that. I've closed the app, and verified in activity monitor.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    As an aside to this the memory will not be released as Free memory in general. The system manages the memory and if there is space to keep the recently used application data in the ram it will do. This will help with launch times etc. if you decide to relaunch the application.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1342

    The only thing you really need to look at is the page ins/page outs as an indication of if you need more ram.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    "free" memory and "inactive" memory should both be counted as "free" memory.
     

Share This Page