Leopard and Wifi and creating a back up

Discussion in 'macOS' started by machomer, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. machomer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #1
    My friend has the same router as I do and he has a Macbook w/ Leopard, but he is not able to connect wirelessly.

    Since I have the same router at home, if I upgrade my MBP to Leopard, will I have the same issue of connecting?

    How should I back up my files if I am upgrading to Leopard? I also have VMWare. Is it as simple as saving all of my files to an external HD?

    Thanks
     
  2. aross99 macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #2
    Kind of hard to diagnose, without more information.

    What type of router is it?
    What type of security/encryption is is using?
    What type of error is he getting on his macbook?

    Don't know why he wouldn't be able to connect with his macbook...
     
  3. machomer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    I have a Netgear 802.11b router.

    Is it possible to install Leopard into VMWare as another OS, while still running Tiger?
     
  4. aross99 macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #4
    No, you can't run Leopard in VMWARE.

    If you have an external drive, you could install Leopard on that, and then boot off that drive, which would preserve your Tiger install. Use that setup to test your machine with Leopard and see if you can connect to your router.

    There shouldn't be any issues, but I suppose you never know for sure. Some of the 802.11b stuff is pretty old. I have seen issues with WEP specifically.

    Can your friend bring his MB over and see if he can connect at your house?
     
  5. machomer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    My friend brought over his Macbook and it wasn't able to connect. He has MB model right before the last update.

    Should I just wait until Apple recognizes this issue and fixes it? I have the Leopard disk but never upgraded since Tiger is doing fine.
     
  6. aross99 macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
  7. aross99 macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #7
    Forgot to ask about YOUR computer. What kind of Mac do you have, and do you connect wirelessly at home?
     
  8. machomer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    He is able to connect wirelessly else where. I have a MBP, the version when the just went to LED screens. I am able to connect wirelessly right now.
     

Share This Page