Leopard + Bluetooth

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Chafka, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. Chafka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #1
    I have a C2D 2.33 Ghz Macbook Pro and since I have upgraded to Leopard I am not able to use my blue tooth. I know the laptop has it since I used to sync my palm with it. Has anyone else seen this? Not really sure how to get it back (it says it doesn't see any bluetooth devices).

    Thanks.
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    make sure the bluetooth is on, and its discoverable
     
  3. Chafka thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #3
    Do you check to see if it is on by going through System Prefs -> Network -> select bluetooth -> setup bluetooth devices....?

    When I do that it says "no bluetooth hardware found"
     
  4. Chafka thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #4
    Looks like, by the forums on Apple's site, I am not the only one with the problem. Looks like I will have to wait and see if it gets fixed.
     
  5. .macstiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #5
    Same dilemma.
     
  6. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    ah the joys of being apples public beta testers:)
     
  7. .macstiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #7
    I was just thinking that :p
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    any ideas when the final OS (10.5.1) will be released?

    need a fix for the screen dimming issue too
     
  9. .macstiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #9
    So, my issue may not be related to Leopard. I just switched to a BT mouse and keyboard recently, and wasn't aware that you can only pair them to one machine. Only after I reset the mouse did the OS pick it up... but this was after I went back to Tiger. I'll re-install Leopard tonight to see if it's OS-specific.

    And while on the subject... do they make BT KVMs? I'd rather not have to get another BT mouse and keyboard, if possible. I'd hoped it would be as simple as disabling BT on one laptop, then re-enabling it on the target system, but that doesn't seem possible with my current setup.
     
  10. torpy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney + Los Angeles
    #10
    There's a simple fix, shutdown your computer, remove the battery (if its a laptop, else pull the power out), wait about 5 minutes or so and start it back up. BT should once again be detected, worked for me.
     
  11. .macstiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #11
    I picked up a second BT mouse and re-installed Leopard last night. The mouse doesn't pick up automatically despite being discoverable, but Leopard does see and use it when I set it up. Only problem is, it has to be paired every time I run Leopard, instead of remembering like Tiger. Annoying. Anyone else with that problem?
     
  12. quovadis macrumors regular

    quovadis

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    in PA
    #12
    No problem here. Just paired my Nokia e61i ...
     
  13. benxx11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #13
    I had some problems with my BT mighty mouse during the first day after upgrading to Leopard. But what I did was removing the batteries from the mouse and putting them back in. It has been working fine since....
     
  14. balahir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    Yep, me too, using a Logitech BT Travel Mouse. I will try removing the batteries tonight.
     

Share This Page