Leopard + Boot Camp 64-bit Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by archer007, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. archer007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    #1
    Is it possible to install Boot Camp 3.0 or higher on Windows 7 64-bit when dual booting with Leopard? What I've been reading suggests I need the Snow Leopard disc for Boot Camp 3.0+ and Windows 7 compatibility, but I only have the Leopard OEM disc.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Yes, you need Snow Leopard for Windows 7 ...

    Snow Leopard is only $29.
     
  3. archer007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    #3
    It's not my Mac it belongs to a school. I just want to know if I have to buy Snow Leopard or not.

    EDIT: Ok, thanks!
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Yes. You need SL.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Just curious if it belongs to the school what are you doing installing Windows on it?

    B
     
  6. archer007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    #6
    They want their iMacs to dual boot with Windows 7. No idea why, I'm just prepping the images.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Yeah, then to be license compliant they will want to have $29 SL licenses for each iMac for the Boot Camp drivers, right? (Even if they only install the driver's it's the only legit way to get a license.)

    Also, you are sure that these are on the 64 bit compatibility list, right?

    B
     
  8. archer007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    #8
    Oh? I'll check that out, that is pretty important. You have a link to something explaining that? They run 64-bit Win7 fine, but I haven't tested this on all the iMac models yet. I think we can switch to 32-bit Win7 if we can't run 64-bit.
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1846 is the official list. Doesn't mean they can't run 64 bit, just means Apple doesn't support it due to EFI incompatibilities and drivers they don't provide.

    B
     

Share This Page