Leopard - Can I Upgrade? - Help

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by HelixOmnimedia, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. HelixOmnimedia macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #1
    Hi,

    First of I'm not that knowledgeable about the technical side of Macs and I need some advice. I have a:

    PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 1GB DDR SDRAM

    And I was wondering if I can upgrade to Leopard?

    What are the advantages and disadvantages of putting Leopard on a PowerBook?

    I was going to wait until I got a MacBook Pro (early next year), but after seeing all the features - I want it!


    Thanks for any help and information, much appreciated.
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Yep, it'll work real well on that machine. Just make sure you've got plenty of space on your hard drive, and you'll be fine :)
     
  3. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #3
    19.13GB left - :eek: It takes about 9GB? :(

    Just found out where most of the space it taking up: iTunes Media
    Music - 4GB
    Movies - 1GB
    TV Shows - 18GB
    Podcast - 2GB
     
  4. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #4
    Ordered Leopard!!

    Getting it for £58.75 gave me the final push to buy it.

    It should be with me tomorrow (the rep said - but i don't believe him).
     
  5. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #5
    Woo Hoo TNT just dropped of my Leopard and it's installing as we speak!!
     
  6. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #6
    Have fun with Leopard. It works fine on our Powerbook, so yours should be really nice. I would suggest upgrading your Ram.. and maybe looking at getting an external?
     

Share This Page