Leopard - drive region change (?)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sk3pt1c, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    i installed Leopard (i f**ing love it!!!) and when i tried to play a DVD to check out the new DVD player, i got a message saying it was set to region one, which does piss me off a bit, since i bought my notebook in the UK, i don't think Leopard should change that, but hey, whatever...
    so it says, you can change the drive region to 2 only once !
    i don't mind cause that's where i am, innit?
    but it won't do it!
    i get an error every single time i try it, using various DVDs as well...
    any ideas as to how i can change the region to 2?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    this is the message i get:

    "There was a problem changing the drive region.
    Error: -70001"

    what gives?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Gah… I thought Apple had gone away from cryptic error codes! :mad:
     
  5. V.K. macrumors 6502

    V.K.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    do you have a bootable copy of your old tiger system?
    have you tried changing the code when booted to tiger?
     
  6. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #6
    nope, i don't have a bootable copy of the old system, i just backed up my files and applications.
    am i stuck with region 1 then? :(
    this is a big enough issue for me to go back to Tiger if i can't fix it actually
     
  7. V.K. macrumors 6502

    V.K.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    I'm afraid it's even worse than you think. It's my understanding that you won't be able to reinstall Tiger unless you boot from a separate Tiger hard drive. I might be wrong but that's what people who tried to do it are saying on the apple support forum. Also i saw several other posts on the support forum from people with the same exact problem (including the error code) as you. Since this problem is not unique to you maybe Apple will actually fix it at some point.

    BTW, I REALLY hate this region code crap. I had to move twice between North America and Europe and dealing with different DVD regions is a serious pain in the behind. I now have an assortment of DVDs from 3 different regions and have to be very careful how I play them.
     
  8. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #8
    Get a copy of the latest version of MacTheRipper and you won't need to worry about region encoding. MTR ignores region encoding allowing you rip the dvd to your hard drive.

    MTR is how I watch region-2 only concert videos that I get on amazon.co.uk.
     
  9. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #9
    i know, i've got mactheripper, but i can't really rip every single dvd i want to watch, innit? ;)
    hopefully apple will fix this in 10.5.2 which i hope will come out soon!!! :)
     
  10. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #10
    I'd be very surprised if Leopard itself changed the firmware region encoding on your DVD drive.

    However, even if your drive is flashed to be region-free, region restriction can still be enforced at the OS or application layer.

    If this is the case, have you tried watching a dvd with VLC? VLC has the virtue of being region agnostic (unlike, I'm sure, Apple's DVD player app).
     
  11. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #11
    yep, vlc won't play them.
    macTheRipper can read and rip them of course, but i just want to be able
    to play dvds using DVD Player, which means i have to change the region!
     
  12. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #12
  13. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #13
    i can't really risk that :)
    so there's no other way?
    i'll just have to wait for apple to sort it out in an upcoming update then?
     

Share This Page