Leopard Final Build - "Shared" not finding Windows machines?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by edesignuk, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Anyone else running the final build having a problem where the "Shared" thing in the left hand pane of a Finder window is finding other OS X machines on the network, but not Windows ones?

    It worked fine in 9a559, found everything, but now it will only find other Macs.

    I can still connect to Windows shares manually with the Connect to Server dialogue, but I really want it just to list them under Shared again.

    Just trying to confirm if this is just me or if others are seeing this.
     
  2. Eluzion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #2
    Mine is showing up my roommates Windows Vista machine just fine. However, it fails to connect (I'm not sure if he has sharing enabled though and I'm too lazy to go check). ;)

    I am, however, having issues with my other roommates OS X Tiger Macbook being able to access my shared printer. Worked fine when I was on Tiger, but now it doesn't seem to allow him print with my Macbook Pro on Leopard.
     
  3. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    Windows XP will show up as a share if the Windows machine has file sharing turned on and Bonjour for Windows installed ( I think ).You will need to turn file sharing on in Leopard also.
    Vista should show up automatically.
     
  4. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    I have file sharing turned on in Leopard, and both Windows machines (XP SP2 and Vista) are sharing folders.

    Bonjour shouldn't be required, it certainly wasn't a few days ago on the beta (9a559).

    Nuts!
     
  5. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  6. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #6
    I noticed this as well. For the first few hours after installing I only saw my NAS which supports AFP. Then my Windows machines appeared for a bit and have since disappeared again. I never had a problem finding them with Tiger.

    BTW, one is a Vista machine and the other is XP SP2.
     
  7. jakebot macrumors member

    jakebot

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #7
    when I was at work, I installed leopard, and it saw all my macs (WORKS AWSOME) but when I brought the laptop home... it cant see my pcs

    Any thoughts? I've tried a lot... even used the "connect to" box.

    I read a lot, but theres not much on leopard yet...obviously
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    works fine for me, it sees all of my windows machines i didnt have to do anything to them, they just show up
     
  9. sSNAKEs9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    I think this part of Leopard is screwed up...it's the only real problem I have with the OS right now. Hopefully a patch comes out soon!
     

Share This Page