Leopard Finder using a lot of RAM

Discussion in 'macOS' started by netnothing, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #1
    Currently my mac pro....clean install of Leopard has the Finder using 275 MB.

    Other people seeing the increase of RAM usage with the Finder in Leopard?

    -Kevin
     
  2. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #2
    Mine is at 10mb real memory, and 815mb virtual.
    So yours seems kinda high!
    This is on a Macbook Pro with 2gb of ram too...
     
  3. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Right now I'm at 287 MB Real and 1.46 GB Virtual mem.

    Now granted, my machine has been up 17d 23h 51m, and I work on it everyday doing web development and some video encoding.

    Was more that anything looking to see what other people have.

    Thanks for replying.

    -Kevin
     
  4. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    So I did the ol' Alt + Right Click the finder icon and chose Relaunch to relaunch the Finder.

    I'm now back down to 12 MB Real Memory.

    I'm guessing this got so high because over the course of the 17 days, there were times that I was doing alot in the Finder....like Coverflow on lots of images, etc.

    Here's a question from a long time Windows user....what exactly does the Finder Relaunch do? Does it just restart the Finder itself, not impacting any running apps?

    -Kevin
     
  5. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #5
    The Finder is just an app like any other. Relaunching just kills the Finder and restarts it. Don't worry about it.
     
  6. klaxamazoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #6
    For some reason my virtual memory is always around 37GB's. I installed Leopard when it first came out. Every application is taking a minimum of 800MB's even little processes like Airport Base Station.
     
  7. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #7
    After restarting the Finder on 12/6....the memory usage has crept up to 180MB of real memory. This is without doing any coverflow viewing in Finder.

    I don't remember the Finder in Tiger taking up this much RAM....or maybe it did and the Activity Monitor wasn't showing it.

    -Kevin
     
  8. hulugu macrumors 68000

    hulugu

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    the faraway towns
    #8
    Leopard's Memory Reporting...

    ...is weird.

    Check this out:
     

    Attached Files:

    • WTF.jpg
      WTF.jpg
      File size:
      52.6 KB
      Views:
      76
  9. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #9

    Wow...do you have the new Mac Pro that comes standard with 16 TB of RAM? :D

    Yeah, I think Apple did something in the memory reporting in Leopard. Weird that they would mess something like that up.

    -Kevin
     
  10. hulugu macrumors 68000

    hulugu

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    the faraway towns
    #10
    No, I got the MacBook Pro. I need another one to hold the memory chips.

    However, I think my MBP might be self-aware, so there's a benefit. ;)
     

Share This Page