Leopard + Flash = Text Problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by stoid, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #1
    I regularly play Scrabulous (Scrabble) on Facebook and after upgrading via Erase and Install, the text renders really weird. Is anyone else having a problem like this? I haven't noticed it in any other Flash app though. Any ideas? Thanks!

    BK
     

    Attached Files:

  2. stoid thread starter macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    Just to be certain, I downloaded and installed the latest Flash Player from Adobe's website, but the problem persists.
     
  3. 9numbernine9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #3
    I'm having the exact same problem - however, I did a clean install when I installed Leopard. Anyone have any ideas??
     
  4. 9numbernine9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
  5. jpfisher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Hey guys, I was having the same problem with Scrabulous, and I tried to install the update to the Flash player. I keep getting an error message during the install -- this is on 10.5.1 btw:

    Error creating file.
    1008:5,-5000 Access Denied Error

    (Click OK)

    Next dialog:

    You do not have enough access privileges for this installation.

    I have already run a Disk Utility repair permissions on my hard drive, still getting the error, and am logged in with my administrator account.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. jpfisher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    The solution to the problem I had in the above message, in case anyone else runs into it --

    Open Directory Utility, enable the root user account (under "edit"), set a root password
    Log out of OS X
    Log in with "Other" and enter root as the user and the password you set for the root account
    Run the installer

    Enjoy....
     

Share This Page