Leopard Front Row goes black after a few seconds

Discussion in 'macOS' started by alexandrend, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. alexandrend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #1
    I'm having a lot of problems with movies in Front Row 2.0. In fact, it is unusable now.
    Every time I try to play a movie in Front Row it starts correctly but after a few seconds (20 or less) the screen becomes black but sound keeps playing.
    I can play the same movies in iTunes, Quicktime and QuickView so it definitely seems to be a problem with Front Row.

    Is there anyone having the same problem?
     
  2. mte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    #2
    You probably use perian and this happens when you watch a movie with subtitles?
    If so, this is a known bug (not sure if front row's or perian's), I hope they solve it soon.
     
  3. alexandrend thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #3
    Yes, I'm using Perian and watch movies with subtitles BUT I used Quicktime to save the movies from AVI to MOV and now the subtitles are embedded in the movie so it should work.
     
  4. hagar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #4
    It is a very annoying bug, for me front row is unusable right now. The latest updates (10.5.2, QT 7.4 or Perian 1.1) do not fix this issue. I filed a bug and apparently Apple is still investigating the problem, so no fix in the near future as it turns out :(
     
  5. noobey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #5
    yep add me to the hate list also.
    this bug makes movies such as apocalypto completely unwatchable!

    hope it gets sorted soon.

    i still dont get why the subs play fine in the quicktime player app, but not in frontrow?
     
  6. burotico macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #6
    Front Row with subtitles - THE SOLUTION

    After searching for almost a year, finally I've found the solution for viewing Front Row with subtitles in Leopard.

    A spanish developer used the open sourced Perian and made a modified version.

    If you have Perian, just click on System Preferences and uninstall it.

    Download the modified version:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CYUUEORB

    You need to change the text code from Korean to Auto.

    You can view the original post in:
    http://www.applesfera.com/2008/09/30-solucion-a-los-subtitulos-en-front-row
     
  7. noobey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #7
    WOW!

    this plugin looks excellent!
    thanks for the post.

    front row 5.1 passthrough, subs in front row......!

    the only snag is none of it is working for me. im sure its something i am doing wrong.

    has anyone else got it to work?
     

Share This Page