Leopard iChat Problems

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mbl42, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. mbl42 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #1
    Hey guys..finished installing Leopard (archive and install) and launched up iChat. I entered my AIM SN and pwd and it proceeded to log me in like normal. Once it logged me in, my buddy list came up, but it showed all my contacts offline and I wasn't able to IM them. I wasn't able to add or edit buddies or anything of the sort either. What the hell. Any ideas? I tried deleting the .plist files in my library and trying iChat again but no luck. :confused:
     
  2. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
  3. mbl42 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
  4. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #4
    Try it on a different account? or try it with a different AIM account?
     
  5. mbl42 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #5
    I don't think that would get me anywhere. This account works fine in Adium. It is iChat that's screwed up.
     
  6. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #6
    The new iChat won't connect to my Jabber server any more, just getting 'The server has unexpectedly disconnected' which is annoying. Also the option to automatically accept self-signed certs has disappeared.
     
  7. Blink7551 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #7
    I am having this EXACT problem. I installed Leopard and all my buddies are "greyed" out. Adium works fine. I have a MBP Intel Core Duo. Anyone have a solution?
     
  8. supremedesigner macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    #8
    Maybe you had it setup as .mac instead in the setup screen. IMO. I might be wrong
     
  9. tmeyer2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #9
    No text

    The problem I am having is that when you type a message it shows up at the destination, but the bubble in the local client is not updated.

    Adium works, and iChat is at v4. OS is 10.5.1
     
  10. chris.niziolek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #10
    Try deleting iChat, and reinstalling it off the Leopard install DVD. I have not tried this, but its an idea.
     

Share This Page