leopard install failed, computer wont restart

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by seh80, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. seh80 macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #1
    My imac has been giving me a lot of trouble, so I decided tonight to just wipe it out and reinstall Leopard. I backed up, and did the erase and install. After the hour installation passed, it said Chinese support failed, install failed, please restart and try again. So okay, I don't care about Chinese, but it didn't give me an option for that. I clicked the restart button it provided. And now the computer just hangs. I hear the install cd spinning...
    I've tried to force restart it and restart while holding down c? No dice.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. -_-
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Try holding Option on startup, then select the DVD.

    Also, if you do a custom install you can select which langauges you want to install and which ones you don't.
     
  4. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #4
    I did this, selected it, and it just goes back to hanging on the white screen with the apple and the little spinning circle (hopefully you guys know what I mean, its from the time right after the starting chimes).

    The problems I was having were just application related... just wanted a fresh start after so much frustration.

    Thanks for the replies!
     
  5. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #5
    Oh, and I can boot into Windows using bootcamp... so I mean, the computer isn't dead, it just doesn't want to play nice with the installation or something? >.<
     
  6. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #6
    How long did you wait?

    Also, are you using a retail copy of Leopard or your system restore discs (the gray ones that came with your mac)?
     
  7. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #7
    I waited for about an hour. I was using a retail copy of Leopard... but I guess I should have been using the system restore discs eh? >.>
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    It's worth at least trying the restore discs. I recently had an instance where I thought my machine was dead because it refused to boot from the retail discs, but I popped in my restore disc and it booted after a couple minutes.
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    You might try wiping the disc clean too

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  10. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #10
    The restore discs allowed me to get in there... all the way to the installation introduction. Then a little message pops down which says "Alert, This software cannot be installed on this computer." Options are restart (which just does this over and over), and startup disc.

    :/ I can't imagine what the problem is...
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    Usually that happens if you're using restore discs for a different machine. Are you sure that those are the discs that came with the iMac?
     
  12. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #12
    Hmm it said iMac on it, but maybe they went with my older machine. Found another set, this one doesn't say which model they go with, but giving that a try now. Thanks for the thought.
     

Share This Page