Leopard Install Question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by philgilder, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi, got a MacBook Pro a month ago, first mac

    ive pre ordered leopard, and will obviously install it

    how should i do this?
    i want to keep all my apps etc, but also want to make sure all old system files are removed/replaced.

    is this archive and install??? or is a plain old upgrade ok

    i know this will have probably been asked a thousand times now... sorry
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    If you want to have a totally clean install I recommend backing up to an external drive, installing fresh, then moving over your files and reinstalling apps :)
     
  3. philgilder thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    apps isnt too much of a problem

    apart from ilife

    as i understand, ilife 'comes with all macs' but isnt a part of osx, so will not be there when i clean install
    how do i get it? i dont want to pay for something that i rightfully own...

    thanks for the very quick reply!
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Its on the disks that came with your Macs...or if you follow the method I posted, you can just drag the apps over from the external :)
     
  5. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5
    Just do the archive and install with the 'Preserve Users and Network Settings' option on... a clean install is for masochists and besides, dragging and dropping apps is not possible with all apps.
     
  6. philgilder thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  7. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #7
    I have all my documents and what not on a back up drive. I plan on just doing a fresh install. You can always install your applications again if need be.
     

Share This Page