Leopard Install..What a Joke

Discussion in 'macOS' started by purdueboiler87, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. purdueboiler87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #1
    After getting the Blue screen like the thousands of other people, I did an Archive and install. Finally got my MBP to boot but here are my issues:

    1. My account no longer has admin privileges. How do I get this fixed?

    2. No dock.

    3. Expose and all my F keys do nothing. No F12 or F9. Nothing happens.

    4. When I go into System Prefs, no ability to do anything with the desktop or screensaver.

    I'm sure there are a bunch more problems I haven't even found yet. I never expected to be up at 2am trying to fix my machine. Any ideas?
     
  2. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #2
    try doing a Clean install ERASE DRIVE and DO A FRESH NEW INSTALL ..that's wut i did wth my MBP.. when i 1st installed it... and u should be fine.
     
  3. chris.niziolek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #3
    Call AppleCare tonight! I had the problem of my user not having administrative rights so I gave them a call. The tech was able to help me fix that problem and as I was waiting I asked him if there have been a lot of problems tonight. They do have fixes for the blue screen, and the administrator problem. Just call them.
     
  4. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #4
    Zee F keys, zey do nothing!

    Sorry, I couldn't resist an opening like that. ;)
     
  5. purdueboiler87 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #5
    So I went to bed last night aggravated and I wake up my MBP this morning and I have a dock and the function keys seem to work. I decided to reboot to see what happens, and after I rebooted, no dock and no function keys.

    Why on earth would it do that?
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    well, give up upgrade idea, back up your data and do a clean install maybe?

    OS upgrading is always a pain, especially in Unix based system, I still have my Ubuntu 7.10 copy sitting on my desk, I won't do it until when I have time and backed up all the data. good thing is

    Its free.
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    I had problems with my Powerbook installation but it's working fine now. My iMac and my dads both installed fine too. *shrugs*
     
  8. Wayfarer macrumors 65816

    Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
  9. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    You probably just had something installed on Tiger that is evil. Just backup and clean install.
     

Share This Page