Leopard Menu Bar

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mac OS X Ocelot, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. Mac OS X Ocelot macrumors 6502a

    Mac OS X Ocelot

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #1
    For those of you who have actually used Leopard in some way or another, can you change exactly how clear the menu bar is? For instance, some people want it to not be transparent at all, while I'd like to see it 100% transparent on a light picture with the shadow intact so that it looks raised still. One time when I was shutting down my mac it hung on the plain blue screen after everything closes and the menu bar retreats, except for some reason the shadow remained and it looked pretty sweet. I'd like to see the menu bar look like that.
     
  2. ~J~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #2
    I would love to see all the items on the top "bar" float freely up there... in other words, no actual bar, just the items hanging there in 3d... now THAT would be sweeeet...
     
  3. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #3
    the menu bar looks thinner to me. does anyone else think this?
     
  4. afornander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #4
    you can not adjust the menu bar transparency from what i have both seen, and heard of. there is no need to though, as it looks great under both light and dark backgrounds.:D:apple:

    also, i read in a forum that someone found the menubar to be a .png file that can easily be replaced (i have also noticed this with the dock) so im sure there will be mods popping up for this after leopard has been out for a wile;)
     
  5. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #5
    I thought the same thing. I *think* its just that the screen shots for Leopard are done at a higher resolution than past screen shots.
     
  6. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #6
    If need be you could always place a white strip on a desktop image.

    A little bit of a pain in da butt, but it will look closer to the current.
     
  7. hotdamn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    #7
    no way of changing the transparency "officially".

    and no, I am not talking out of my youknowwhat, I am actually using it.
     
  8. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    I'd wager that within a few months there'll be utilities (like the applications tinkertool and TransparentDock) that allow you to change the menu bar transparency settings.
     
  9. DizzyRose macrumors regular

    DizzyRose

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Barrowford, UK
    #9
    I'm sure someone will be able to release a hack for it
     
  10. Ariez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #10
    Im sure you can adjust it by default, and if not theres always hacks.
     

Share This Page