Leopard: Missing BSD Subsystem, can it be downloaded??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MatuX, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. MatuX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I bought an iMac, it had Mac OS X already installed, but I don't really know if BSD Subsystem was installed. I don't have the Windows Sharing option, my BSD.pkg file in Macintosh HD -> Library -> Receipts says its "Zero KB", but the "apropos" file is there.
    So, I don't really know.

    I inserted the Mac OS X installation CD, went to the "Optional Installs" folder and the BSD Subsystem isn't there, neither is in CD 2.

    I tried executing the Mac OS X installation and I can't install it from there without first "erase and install" or something.

    Is there any workaround? I find it pretty weird that BSD wasn't installed and more over, that it is not even in my Mac OS X CD.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    That's correct. What exactly isn't working?
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    If OS X is installed and working fine, don't worry about BSD.

    If you are that worried about it, you'd have to do an Erase and Install. If you decide to do this, I think you'll find the same thing after it is complete.
     
  4. MatuX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #4
    My problem is that I'm not being able to make my Mac visible to my Windows Notebook.

    My network layout is: Internet Cable directly to my iMac through Ethernet, my iMac shares to two Windows computers through an ad-hoc WiFi.

    I don't have a "Windows Sharing" option in my Sharing panel, and I'm a bit lost since all the information I found said in one way or another that if I don't have "Windows Sharing" it is because I don't have the BSD Subsystem.

    But I believe that I wouldn't be able to share internet from my iMac if I wouldn't have that BSD Subsystem package?
     
  5. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Are you using a router?

    What kind of sharing are you talking about ?

    There is no "Windows sharing" in the preference pane. Select file sharing then you will see a Windows option.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    This is correct.

    You want Internet Sharing, it seems.
     
  7. ihabime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #7
    Windows sharing is called SMB, click the options button on the file sharing part of the sharing preference pane.
     
  8. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #8
    No one does, because it's not there. Whatever you read was referring to 10.4, try File Sharing if you're on 10.5
     

Share This Page